A gallery with a view
A panoramic view over the city, a long history devoted to art and a present infused with a passion for photography: the Casa dei Tre Oci is one of Venice’s best-kept secrets.
There is a place in Venice, off the beaten track, that allows you to appreciate the romantic side of the city from a unique perspective. Located on the Island of Giudecca, the Casa dei Tre Oci is a magnificent example of early 20th century Neo-Gothic Venetian architecture, an exhibition space dedicated to photography and an extraordinary vantage point overlooking the basin of San Marco.
Situated in an area of unusual artistic and historic interest, the building is strategically positioned in front of the Punta della Dogana, St. Mark’s Square and the Ducal Palace, and is only steps from the Church of Il Redentore.
Designed in 1913 by the artist Mario De Maria as a house and studio, the Casa dei Tre Oci (the house with three eyes), was, until the end of the 1980s, a place of meeting and discussion, a studio, and a space for artists and intellectuals visiting Venice from all over the world. In 2012, following in-depth restoration, the building became a public art gallery, dedicated to the study and narration of themes and languages related to contemporary art, in particular, photography and the visual arts. It also houses the photography collection owned by the Fondazione di Venezia and a thematic library. Finally, two rooms are dedicated to the De Maria family. Original furnishings and a selection of paintings and drawings offer visitors a glimpse into the family’s life during artistic gatherings.
Over the past few years, the space has hosted important solo and collective exhibitions. In 2016, it featured the works of Helmut Newton, Ferdinando Scianna and René Burri.
OPENING DAYS AND HOURS:
Open daily 10am-6pm (closed on Tuesday).
Full ticket 12 euros, reduced tickets 10 euros.
Other reductions available